Basseterre, St. Kitts, September 08, 2020 (SKNIS): Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education, William V. Hodge, recognized several teachers who were chosen to spearhead the digital transformation in schools, noting that their hard work and dedication, as well as their commitment for teaching their peers to use digital tools, must not go unnoticed.

“I must single out for recognition those teachers who were nominated and trained as School Champions. Their main responsibility is to prepare and enable their peers to use digital tools in the delivery of education,” said PS Hodge during the Opening Ceremony of the Reopening of the New School Year on Monday, September 7, 2020, at the Antioch Baptist Church.

The permanent secretary said that teachers are now better equipped to use digital tools.

“Over the past two weeks, School Campions were engaged in training to be better prepared to help their peers. This has been very exemplary. Thanks to the School Champions other teachers are now better equipped to use digital tools whether face-to-face or remotely,” said the permanent secretary. “Equally, I want to recognize Shirmoy Blake for excelling in the training of School Champions and for emerging as the winner of the School Champions challenge.”

Equally important, Mr. Hodge recognized Jaycee Sommersale, Deputy Principal at the Cayon High School for his “outstanding service in preparing himself and the teaching fraternity in the use of Microsoft Teams.” Mr. Sommersale served as a facilitator in all of the phases of the MS training. Mr. Hodge indicated that Mr. Sommersale and the School Champions would be rewarded tangibly.

School Champions were nominated and trained from primary and secondary schools in St. Kitts.

Secondary schools are as follows: Cayon High – Jaycee Somersall, Theresa Brookes, Vernon Wilkinson; Basseterre High – Alberto Hewlett, Ashton Davis, Delroy Boon, Shirmoy Blake; Saddlers Secondary – Merellia Delsol, Abigail Christopher, Kerecia Simmonds; Washington Archibald High – Camille Bruno-Audain, Narissa Walters, Daulinter Hazell, Donato Wharton; Verchilds High – Gavin Williams, Charles Pemberton; Charles E Mills; Karina Wilson Charles, Nikieta Isles, Kayton Blake, Schivorne Thomas, and Cotton Thomas Comprehensive – Sylvester Dore and Priscilla Okon.

The primary school champions are: Edgar T. Morris – Raynelda Salters, Shona Henry-Whyte; Violet Petty – Cimone Matthew, Azintha Richards; Dieppe Bay – Lynthia Jeffers, Sarah Phipps; Saddlers Primary –Daria Thomas, Jolanie Johnson; Bronte Welsh Primary – Diedra Warner Francis, Atoya Taylor; Irish Town Primary – Brenda Hazel and Kiana Samuel; Estridge Primary – Shameika Phipps, Carioca Gumbs; Newton Ground Primary – Tasanger Marsham; George Moody Stuart – Udella Richardson; Maurice Hillier – Asha Audain, Jakki Gumbs; Beach Allen Primary – Ayana Hanley, Julia Rawlins, Annan Doodnaught, Tessa Thomas; Cayon Primary – Tiziana Morrison, Jamillah Bristol; Tyrrell Williams Primary – Leonora Gift; Deane Glasford Primary – Darcelle Smith, Jestin Herbert, Vernella Taylor; Tucker Clarke Primary – Aniesa Prentice-Davis Velma Moses, Kester Pemberton; Sandy Point Primary – Ebony Smith; St. Paul’s Primary – Renica Blake, Natalie Francis; Joshua Obadiah Williams Primary – Availyn Lybert, Soretta Brown, and Dr William Connor Primary – Aleica Nembhard, Jamiela France and Kevington Pemberton.

About Author

Related posts